Sleep Next To Plastic

The latest in in a series of very special band-curated playlists is streaming now on Spotify, featuring new/lost recordings, B-sides and album tracks. As well as cover versions of songs by Nirvana and Echo & the Bunnymen, the playlist includes a brand new recording of Madonna’s ‘Borderline’, which the band debuted at their tiny show at Cardiff’s Clwb Ifor Bach in March for BBC Radio 6 Music. 

Listen here.

That tracklisting in full: 

1. Borderline (Madonna, new recording) 

2. Take The Skinheads Bowling (Camper Van Beethoven)

3. Red Sleeping Beauty (McCarthy)

4. Jean’s Not Happening [featuring Finlay George] (The Pale Fountains, lost recording)

5. The Endless Plain of Fortune (John Cale – new to Spotify)

6. Feels Like Heaven (Fiction Factory – new to Spotify)

7. Umbrella (Rihanna)

8. Out Of Time (The Rolling Stones)

9. Train in Vain (The Clash)

10. Pennyroyal Tea (Nirvana, recorded live at the BBC – new to Spotify)

11. Let’s Stay Together (Al Green, recorded live at the BBC – new to Spotify)

12. Theme From M*A*S*H [Suicide Is Painless] (Johnny Mandel/Michael Altman/The Ron Hicklin Singers)

13. Vision Blurred (The Horrors – new to Spotify)

14. Working Class Hero (John Lennon)

15. Wake Up Alone (Amy Winehouse – new to Spotify)

16. Bright Eyes (Art Garfunkel, previously unreleased full band version) 

17. Been A Son (Nirvana)

18. Foggy Eyes (Beat Happening)

19. This Is The Day (The The)

20. Inbetween Days (The Cure, recorded live at the BBC – new to Spotify)

21. Sweet Child O’ Mine (Guns N’Roses, live recording – new to Spotify) 

22. All Or Nothing (The Small Faces recorded live at the BBC – new to Spotify)

23. Didn’t My Lord Deliver Daniel (Paul Robeson)

24. Can’t Take My Eyes Off You (Andy Williams)

25. Bring On The Dancing Horses (Echo & the Bunnymen, recorded live at the BBC – new to Spotify) 

26. Wrote For Luck (Happy Mondays)

27. What’s My Name (The Clash)

28. We Are All Bourgeois Now (McCarthy)

29. Under My Wheels (Alice Cooper, recorded live at the BBC – new to Spotify)

30. Rock’n’Roll Music (Chuck Berry)

31. Damn Dog (Sleaze Sisters)

32. Velocity Girl (Primal Scream)

33. The Instrumental (The June Brides – new to Spotify)

34. Summer Wind (Frank Sinatra – new to Spotify)

35. Last Christmas (Wham!)

36. Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head (B.J. Thomas)

37. Primitive Painters (Felt – new to Spotify)